BOOTLEG GAMES REVIEW (PARTE-XL): Super Lion King (Super Game) (Unl) (FAMICOM)

{twitter}: @FpgaWarrior / {YouTube} Super Lion King (Super Game) (Unl) (Pirate)

Super Lion King es un port no licenciado para Famicom del juego The Lion King de Disney, originalmente realizado por Westwood para Sega Mega Drive, y creado por Super Game y publicado por Realtec en una fecha desconocida (1995 o principios de 1996). También se sabe que es el primer port no licenciado desarrollado por Super Game.

Este port no licenciado es más preciso, fiel y jugable en comparación con el port oficial desarrollado por Dark Technologies y publicado por Virgin, a pesar de que esa versión incluye los niveles The Stampede, The Elephant Graveyard y Exile los cuales no están disponibles en este Super Lion King. Sin embargo, a su vez, el bootleg incluye los niveles posteriores a Hakuna Matata a diferencia de la versión de Dark Technologies.

Existen dos versiones de este juego; el completo conserva la fase de bonus Bug Toss (y muestra la pantalla de inicio de «Super Game» durante más tiempo), mientras que la versión Mapper 4 (más extendida y más popular en los famiclones que se fabrican actualmente) no lo hace.

El siguiente video es una partida completa del juego de principio a fin. No es un speed-run (ni lo pretende) pero sirve de base y/o guía para aquellos que pretendan adentrarse en el juego.

Valoración: Super Lion King (Super Game) es un juego no licenciado bastante bueno para NES. Los controles del juego están muy pulidos y responden perfectamente a las órdenes del jugador lo que hace del juego una experiencia jugable muy buena. El apartado sonoro del juego es muy bueno, contando este título con variadas composiciones musicales muy agradables y poco repetitivas. Los efectos del sonido del juego sin ser nada del otro mundo cumplen bastante bien su función. El apartado gráfico es sin duda excepcional ya que el juego cuenta con sprites bien definidos, llenos de colores y con animaciones muy suaves. Quizás este último apartado sea lo mejor de este juego no licenciado y hace que sea incluso mejor que su contraparte oficial distribuida por Virgin. Por todo lo anterior, considero que este juego merece mucho la pena para los amantes de los juegos de plataformas y representa una opción de entretenimiento a tener en cuenta.

See you 8-bit CowBoy.

9 pensamientos en “BOOTLEG GAMES REVIEW (PARTE-XL): Super Lion King (Super Game) (Unl) (FAMICOM)

  1. Pingback: BOOTLEG GAMES REVIEW (PARTE-XCI): The Lion King Legeng (獅王傳奇) (Waixing) (Unl) (FAMICOM) | The Ryoga´s gyroscope

  2. I am the artist for this game, and I’m thrilled by the game’s high acclaim. A few days ago at a gathering, my friend Dave Allwein gave me a game cartridge. I was ecstatic because at the time, I didn’t think creating bootleg games was something to be proud of, so I didn’t keep any backups. It’s unbelievable that decades later, this has become such a rare treasure. For me, it’s a rediscovered pride, and I’m grateful that you all enjoy this game.

    • Thank you for leaving your comment. The truth is that over time a lot of interest has arisen in this type of Bootleg games for retro consoles. Did you only participate in the development of the graphics for this game or did you get to work on any other games?

      • In 1994, when I was 18 years old, I joined the company Realtec. Within a year, I participated in the production of «Super Lion King,» «Super Aladdin,» «Super Shinobi,» «Bomber Boy,» and a small part of «Mortal Kombat.» «Bomber Boy» was in an unfinished stage when I was recruited by the military for national service. During that time, there was also an NES bootlog game that was never released afterwards., which was «Desert Strike» for the Mega Driver.

      • Wow, it’s incredible. I have played all the games you mentioned in your previous message (with the exception of «Bomber Boy»). In fact, as visual support for the posts in this BLOG I use games recorded and uploaded on my YT channel. I find it very interesting that at the time REALTEC considered releasing an unlicensed port of the game «Desert Strike» for NES. After completing your mandatory military service in Taiwan, did you go back to work at REALTEC or any other Bootleg gaming company? When did your relationship with the development of this type of games end?

      • Two years later, I retired from the military, and I didn’t pursue any game-related work. Instead, I became a 3D computer animator.

      • OKAY. I’m glad to know that you could develop your professional career in another sector. Surely you have some interesting anecdotes to count on your time in REALTEC. Would you be interested in conducting an interview for this blog?

    • Certainly, but I’m just an artist, not sure how much help I can provide. If you have any questions, feel free to let me know, and I’ll do my best to answer based on what I know.

      You can send the questions you want to ask to my email.

      maxxkao@gmail.com

Deja un comentario